Innovation Grants


What is a classroom grant?
The Lehighton Education and Athletic Foundation (LEAF) encourages educators to create innovative and exciting educational programs for their students. Learning becomes easy when students enjoy the information which is being presented to them. Most students have  favorite teachers, and they are usually the ones who help students think outside the classroom textbook. Students need exciting projects, upgraded technology, and better resources, which sometimes means going beyond the approved school budget. Through classroom grants, LEAF helps the students to achieve greater success through an innovative and exciting learning environment.
Teachers, principals, and school administrators may apply for grants that benefit individual classrooms or the entire school.  The typical classroom grant ranges from $250 to $2000, but there is no limit on the Technology equipment, STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) the Fine Arts, Literacy, and Social Studies.
Grants are available for grades K through 12 and could be used for:
-  Musical equipment
-  Field trips to educational destinations
-  Supplies for innovative projects
-  Literacy resources
-  Any other project deemed worthy by the selection committee
After a grant application is submitted, it is reviewed by the LEAF innovative grant committee. Applications are distributed to educators during November, and all applications for grants must be returned to the grant selection committee by January 18th.  The grant committee makes the final selection, and the approved grants are awarded by February 1st.
Classroom grants are made possible through the the following:
-  Fundraising conducted by LEAF
-  LASD teachers payroll deduction
-  LASD staff payroll deduction
-  LASD administration payroll deduction
-  Donations from local businesses and individuals
You can view and print the LEAF Grant Form here.
For more information about classroom grant contact:  (Chairman of the Innovative Grant Committee) 
2020 Scholarship Awardees 
 Hannah Christman

Emma Schappell 

Benjamin Schatz

Logan Wentz

 2019 Scholarship Awardees
Tim Tkach (board member), Isabella Meckes, Jordon Cook, Mackenzie Sabatino, Dakota Hiester, Hugh Dugan (board Member)
 2019 Teacher Grant Awardees
 Mr. Larry Markley (board member), Mrs. Lauren Cortright, Mr. Tim Sharrow, Mrs. Rachel Quinn, Mrs. Susie Cordes, Mrs. Jennifer Shober Steigerwalt, Mrs. Kelli Carpenter, Mrs Courtney Schleicher, Ms. Olivia Haydt, Ms. Tavia Cardell, Mrs. Rachel Klotz, Dr. Michael everett (board member), Mr. Tim Tkach (board member). Missing from photo: Ms. Kristen Zellner, Mr. tom McCarroll, Mrs. Patti Ebbert, Mrs. Tiff Strausberger, Mrs. Jessica Bench
 2018 Scholarship Awardees
Alexander Keck, Audrey Blasiak, Justin Ahner, Grace Obert, Hugh Dugan (LEAF President) MIchael Everett (LEAF board member)
2018 Teacher Grant Awardees
Hugh Dugan, Theresa Kokinda, Gretchen Laviolette, Erica Pagotto, and Larry Markley. Missing from photo: Beth Yescavage

                                                    2016-2020 Totals
 Total Scholarships to date :         18 Scholarships...........for a total of $21,000.00 given
Lehighton Education & Athletic Foundation
P.O. Box 370
Lehighton, Pa 18235
 Like us on Facebook                                             7/17/2016